Easy DIY Scrap Fabric Bunting

DIY Scrap Fabric Bunting
Hello All! So I wish I had more hours in the day to work and keep up with getting some more easy to accomplish content up, I just have to much to do. I’m currently working on a project for a fellow crafter and woman entrepreneur. She reclaims barn wood and turns them into custom signs and other lovely repurposed wood items. She was looking for some décor to dress up her craft show booth. She specifically requested some fabric bunting in her package. I’ve made them many times for other party packages, but since I’m at it again, I might as well get an easy tutorial up! It is seriously the easiest thing ever!

What You Need
String/Yarn
Fabric – I used some newly purchased fabric (I purchased 1/3 of a yard of each color, and had I some extra leftover at the end) and also used some scrap fabric I had at home, I would guess 1.5-2 yards of fabric total should be enough for a long buffet type table, but it all depends on the length & width of your strips and how “full” you want your bunting to be.

The First Step is a simple one, Cut your fabric. I usually cut a paper strip for measuring, just to keep my fabric strips close in size. I also cut about 4 layers at a time, they don’t have to be perfect and cutting more than one layer at once can be a real time saver.
scrap fabric bunting

Once I get them cut, I usually arrange them into an order that I’m pleased with aesthetically, and place my piles of fabric strips in that same order for easy assembly.

Take your first strip, and place it as I have in the photo, with the loop end at the Top, and the two fabric ends at the bottom. Place your string over the fabric, pull the two ends up and through your “loop” gently. I have found that if you hold down your string as you pull the fabric through, the process is a little quicker.DIY Scrap Bunting

When you get to the end of pulling your looped fabric, pull the string taut horizontally (this helps with the little “Knot” thingy) and move onto the next color in your pattern! It really is so easy!

DIY Scrap Bunting

If after a few fabric pieces, it looks something like this, you are on a roll!

DIY Scrap Fabric bunting

When I reached this point, I decided that I was going to use a little burlap as well, so I cut strips of burlap, a tish thinner than the fabric ones, and spaced them with two fabric strips in between each burlap strip.
Here’s what it looked like completed.

fabric banner

Before I finish and say Thank You for stopping by, I would love to hear what you guys think of what I’m doing so far, I love hearing from you party-people in e-mails and through your lovely comments. Truly.

signaturepng

3 thoughts on “Easy DIY Scrap Fabric Bunting

  1. Pingback: Balloons For Babies – raising awareness, and changing my life. | Posh Tart

  2. Hello! I found your blog while searching for DIY fringe fabric bunting stuff on google. I love your bunting, it’s gorgeous! A couple of questions – how wide and how long were your fabric strips? Just want to get an idea so I know how much fabric to buy. I’m going to make one for a backdrop for my son’s smash cake pictures. 🙂 Thanks, Meg

    • Hi Meg! Thank you so much! It really depends on how long you want them. I wouldn’t go more than an inch-ish wide (because they don’t lay as flat when you loop them), but length is up to you. For the banner in this post I wanted them to be 6-8 inches in length once finished, so the strips themselves were 12-16 inches in length. (I don’t exact specifics, and no longer have the bunting on hand) Just keep in mind that the banner/bunting gets really heavy, depending on length, size, and spacing. I’m sure it will turn out awesome!

Leave a Reply

