How I Built a Giant Flower Wall (as cheaply as possible)

DIY Giant Flower Wall

In a previous post, I broke down my method for making these pretty petals. But only used one petal shape. I have since been asked numerous times to give more specifics and share info on 1) How I made all the different flower types 2) How I constructed the wall itself.

I am going to break it down as best I can, I sadly didn’t take many pictures in the building process (I didn’t anticipate this site at that point)

First things first, you will want to familiarize yourself with my flower making method. I used the same general method for every petal shape, and made each flower unique by varying a few different things.  1) I would change the direction in the way I was rolling the petals, some I rolled forward, others backwards, creating a completely different looking flower, out of the same shape.  2.) If you’ve seen the tutorial, (which is probably overdue for a proof read and good edit), But you’ll know I make little flaps on the bottom of the petals, the flaps overlap and create tension in your petal, the bigger the overlap, the taller and stiffer your petals will stand. If your flaps barely overlap, your petals will be more on the droopy side. 3.) I would adjust the flower’s “fullness”, using less layers of petals on some flowers than others.

Ok. A few others general tips for making a mass quantity of flowers.

1.) Don’t worry about each flower being perfect and amazing. It is the sheer quantity of flowers that give this backdrop it’s gravitas. I definitely learned this the hard, slow way. Make them pretty, be happy with them, but they don’t have to be p.e.r.f.e.c.t.

2.) Don’t be afraid to go BIG. For my large flowers, I would use the entire sheet of paper for one petal, The bigger the flowers, the less you ultimately have to make.

3.) I didn’t bother tracing and cutting, the tracing is a waste of time, I used 6 reams of paper for this 6ft x 9ft wall, it’s a lot of cutting. *see tip  #1 regarding perfection

So here is a basic sketch of the petal shapes I used, and a “flower by numbers” sort of picture, to help you identify how I altered the flowers.

sketchpetals

sketch petals 2

numberedflowerwall

Ok. So for the basic construction of the wall.

I built the wall out of six sheets of foam (I recommend at least inch and half thick for sturdiness). Each foam sheet was 3x4ft. Ultimately, I created two “mini walls” that were made to butt up next to each other, this allowed for easier transport of the wall. Each “mini wall” was made of three foam sheets. I glued the edges together, and braced the seams with popsicle sticks (because that’s what I had on hand).

you can find large foam sheets at any menards/lowes type of store, just ask, you may find them in the “insulation” area.

IMG_0002

Here is a picture of one “mini wall” in progress. I mass produced flowers, then would lay them out and rearrange them until I liked how they fit. For flowers that had dramatically less depth than others, were mounted on top of another small piece of foam, to give it added height.

iphone 101

DIY flower wall

As I completed more flowers, I started standing the wall upright and working on it that way. This thing was so durable, I knocked it over multiple times, and it always held up. (And I Know for a fact that it has held up through quite a bit at a wonderful photography studio.) I simply hot glued the flowers directly onto the foam, and used crumpled tissue paper and tissue paper poms to use a filler. I would tuck it behind small gaps in the flowers. Easy and Cheap, and by that time, you will not want to make another flower 😉

iphone 170

If you want to check out how this flower wall was used, you can check out the original post and flower tutorial {HERE} And DON’t FORGET to check out the Amazing Erica McCauley Birth Photography, She is an inspiring woman, mother, and photographer. She has this humbling way of giving you the warm tinglies. Check her out!

Now! I wanted to share a little tip that I was given by a lovely woman, she was the first to ask for detailed flower instructions. She was creating flowers for her daughter’s wedding. She worked so hard and did a tremendous job. So I figured I’d give her a crafty shout out and share her awesome tip.

Barb’s tip is to use paper plates as the base of your flowers, they are perfect circles, and sturdier than just the paper, so if you are making an arch or other “nonwall” type of piece, your flowers have a little more durability and structure! What a great tip, right!?

here’s a bouquet she made all on her own, beautiful huh!? And then the arch she made using my basic tutorial, and these same tips. Way to go, she did fabulous!

I Now Pronounce You[1]

unnamed[1]

Bouquet[1]

Alright! Now it’s time to wrap it up, To all those who have been patiently waiting for me to post this, thank you for waiting, I Hope it all makes sense. I’d love to see how your paper flowers turn out! Try to capture a nice image and send it my way!
jessicasig

One thought on “How I Built a Giant Flower Wall (as cheaply as possible)

  1. Pingback: DIY Giant Paper Flowers | Posh Tart

Leave a Reply

